Contributors’ Notes: Spring 2010

Contributors’ Notes

 

Nick Carbó is the author of four books of poetry, the latest being Chinese, Japanese, What are These? (Pecan Grove Press, 2009). He is also the editor of three anthologies of Filipino and Filipino American writing. Winner of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the New York Foundation for the Arts, he currently teaches at the Low-Residency MFA program at Converse College as core poetry faculty.

 

Alexander Chee is a recipient of the 2003 Whiting Writers’ Award, a 2004 NEA Fellowship in Fiction, and fellowships from the MacDowell Colony and the VCCA. His first novel, Edinburgh, is a winner of the Michener Copernicus Prize, the AAWW Lit Award and the Lambda Editor’s Choice Prize, and was a Publisher’s Weekly Best Book of the Year and a Booksense 76 selection.

 

Kandice Chuh is Associate Professor of English at the University of Maryland, where she is also affiliated with the American Studies Department and the Asian American Studies Program.   The author of Imagine Otherwise: on Asian Americanist Critique, she is currently working on a book project titled “The Difference Aesthetics Makes.”

 

Sonya Chung’s stories, essays, and reviews have appeared in The Threepenny Review, BOMB Magazine, Sonora Review, Crab Orchard Review, and Cream City Review, as well as at The Millions, where she is a contributing writer.  She is a recipient of the Charles Johnson Fiction Award, a Pushcart Prize nomination, and the Bronx Council on the Arts Literary Fellowship & Residency. Long for This World is her first novel.

 

Oliver de la Paz is the author of three books of poetry: Names Above Houses, Furious Lullaby, and most recently Requiem for the Orchard which won the 2009 Akron Poetry Prize. A recipient of grants from the Artists’ Trust of Washington and the New York Foundation for the Arts, his work has appeared or will appear in journals and anthologies such as The Southern Review, Chattahoochee Review, Tin House, Asian American Poetry: The Next Generation, and elsewhere. He is the co-chair of the Kundiman advisory board, and he teaches creative writing and literature at Western Washington University.

 

Ru Freeman’s creative and political writing has appeared internationally. Her debut novel, A Disobedient Girl, will be published in the US and Canada by Atria/Simon & Schuster in July, 2009, by Viking in the UK, and in translation in Italy, Israel, Taiwan, Brazil and the Netherlands.

 

Eugene Gloria is the author of two books of poems–Hoodlum Birds (Penguin, 2006) and Drivers at the Short-Time Motel (Penguin, 2000), which was selected for the 1999 National Poetry Series and the 2001 Asian American Literary Award. His other awards include a Pushcart Prize and recent poems have appeared or are forthcoming in the Indiana Review, Crab Orchard Review, Louisville Review, The Normal School, and The New Republic. He teaches creative writing and literature at DePauw University and lives in Greencastle, Indiana.

 

April Naoko Heck was born in Tokyo, Japan in 1971, and moved to the United States seven years later. Her poems have most recently appeared in Artful Dodge, Borderland: Texas Quarterly Review, Epiphany, and Shenandoah. She has received an AWP Intro Journals Award and held a writers residency at VCCA. She currently works as the readings coordinator at the NYU Creative Writing Program, and lives in Brooklyn.

 

Jennifer Ho is an Assistant Professor in the Department of English & Comparative Literature at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She teaches courses on Asian American literature, contemporary American literature, and American Studies classes that examine race in American culture. Her research interests focus on racial ambiguity and mixed race Asian Americans, which is also the topic of her current book project, What ARE You?: Racial Ambiguity in Contemporary Asian American Culture.

 

Paul Lai is an instructor of Asian American literature at the University of Saint Thomas. He has published essays on Canadian writers Fred Wah and Larissa Lai. He is currently at work on a research project that explores sounds in Asian American literature and culture as well as a collaborative project that brings together Asian American and Native American studies.

 

Ed Lin is the author of Waylaid and This Is a Bust. Both books were published by Kaya Press, in 2002 and 2007, respectively, and both were widely praised. Lin is the first author to win two Members’ Choice Awards in the Asian American Literary Awards. His forthcoming book, Snakes Can’t Run, will be published in hardcover by Thomas Dunne/St. Martin’s/Minotaur in April 2010; it is the sequel to This Is a Bust. Lin, who is of Taiwanese and Chinese descent, lives in New York with his wife, actress Cindy Cheung.

 

Marie Mutsuki Mockett was born in Carmel, California to a Japanese mother and an American father. She graduated from Columbia University with a degree in East Asian Studies. Picking Bones from Ash, published by Graywolf, is her first novel.

 

Mong-Lan’s first book of poems,  Song of the Cicadas, won the 2000 Juniper Prize, the 2002 Great Lakes Colleges Association’s New Writers Awards for Poetry and was a finalist for the Poetry Society of America’s Norma Farber First Book Award.    Her other books of poetry include  Why is the Edge Always Windy?;  Tango, Tangoing: Poems & Art  (the  bilingual Spanish/English edition: Tango, Tangueando: Poemas y Dibujos);  and  Love Poem to Tofu and Other Poems  (chapbook).

 

David Mura is a poet, creative nonfiction writer, critic, playwright and performance artist.   His memoir Turning Japanese: Memoirs of a Sansei won a 1991 Josephine Miles Book Award from the Oakland PEN and was listed in the New York Times Notable Books of Year.   His second book of poetry, The Colors of Desire, won the Carl Sandburg Literary Award from the Friends of the Chicago Public Library.   His first, After We Lost Our Way, won the 1989 National Poetry Series Contest.   His most recent work is the novel Famous Suicides of the Japanese Empire.

 

Gary Pak is a Professor of English at the University of Hawai’i at Manoa where he teaches creative writing and Asian American literature.   He has published four works of fiction.   His most recent publication is Language of the Geckos and Other Stories from the University of Washington Press.

 

Paisley Rekdal is the author of a book of essays, The Night My Mother Met Bruce Lee, and three books of poetry, A Crash of Rhinos, Six Girls Without Pants, and The Invention of the Kaleidoscope. A hybrid photo-text memoir that combines poems, nonfiction and fiction entitled Intimate is forthcoming from Tupelo. Her work has received a Village Voice Writers on the Verge Award, an NEA Fellowship, a Pushcart Prize, the University of Georgia Press’ Contemporary Poetry Series Award, and the Laurence Goldstein Poetry Prize from Michigan Quarterly Review. Her poems and essays have appeared in or are forthcoming from The New York Times Magazine, American Poetry Review, Ploughshares, Poetry, Virginia Quarterly Review, and Tin House.

 

Brian Ascalon Roley’s novel,  American Son  (W.W. Norton), was a NY Times Notable Book, LA Times Best Book, Kiriyama Pacific Rim Prize finalist, and recipient of the Association of Asian American Studies 2003 Prose Book Award, among other honors. His short fiction and nonfiction have appeared in Epoch, North American Review, Georgia Review, San Francisco Chronicle, Prairie Schooner, and many other journals and anthologies. Other honors include the Arthur Lynn Andrews Prize (for best graduate student fiction at Cornell), a Lawrence Foundation Award, and residency fellowships at the Ragdale, VCCA and Djerassi Artist Colonies.

 

Hasanthika Sirisena’s work has appeared, or is forthcoming, in Glimmer Train, Narrative Magazine, Epoch, StoryQuarterly, Witness, Best New American Voices, and other publications.   She is the recipient of scholarships from the Bread Loaf Writers Conference and the Sewanee Writers Conference and a fellowship to the MacDowell Colony.   In 2008, she received a Rona Jaffe Writers’ Award.

 

Cathy Song is the author of Picture Bride (Yale), Frameless Windows, Squares of Light (Norton), School Figures (Pittsburgh), The Land of Bliss (Pittsburgh), and Cloud Moving Hands (Pittsburgh). She lives with her family in Honolulu.

 

David Woo is the author of a book of poems, The Eclipses. His work has appeared in The New Yorker, The Threepenny Review, Literary Imagination, Raritan, TriQuarterly,  and elsewhere, and in several anthologies, including the Everyman’s Library series and the Library of America’s American Religious Poems. Of his second book, a work nearing completion entitled Divine Fire, Harold Bloom writes, “I expect David Woo to be one of the two or three poets of his generation … Divine Fire is even more wise, eloquent, and light-bringing than was his first book, The Eclipses. David Woo now writes the poems of our climate, in the tradition of Wallace Stevens, Hart Crane, and Elizabeth Bishop.”

 

Karen Tei Yamashita is a Japanese American writer whose pioneering works of fiction include Through the Arc of the Rain Forest, winner of the American Book Award and The Janet Heidinger Kafka Award, Brazil Maru, named by The Village Voice one of the 25 Best Books of 1992, Tropic of Orange, finalist for the Paterson Fiction Prize, Circle K Cycles, and the forthcoming I Hotel.

 

Timothy Yu is the author of Race and the Avant-Garde: Experimental and Asian American Poetry since 1965 (Stanford University Press). His poetry collection Journey to the West (Barrow Street) won the Vincent Chin Memorial Chapbook Prize from Kundiman. His poems and essays have appeared in Chicago Review, SHAMPOO, Another Chicago Magazine, and The Poetry Project Newsletter. He is an associate professor of English and Asian American studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

 

 

Leave a Reply